To live or not to live with...

28/01/2023

The husband had problems with alcohol. After his return from the pub, hell always began. My name is Hermína and I would like to share my life story with you.

I have 3 small children with a husband who had problems with alcohol. He constantly beat me, verbally and mentally tortured me. The worst part was when my children saw it all. It was very stressful for me. If I didn't have small children, I would do something very bad to him. I didn't know how to get out of this horror, what should I do, who will help me? When the husband came back from the pub once, he was somehow more angry than usual, very rude and vulgar. He started verbally but also physically attacking me. The children were crying, I was crying, my husband was screaming. Terrible chaos and it just came out of me. "God help me. Suddenly my husband tripped, I immediately took advantage of the situation and took the children with my last strength and ran to my mother. From there I called the police and they caught him and took him away. My husband was put in jail and I was happy and I felt free. But this enthusiasm did not last long because my husband was the one who brought financial income to the household. And so I found myself in big financial problems. I had no money to pay the rent, so I had to leave the apartment and move in with my mother.

But I couldn't stay here for a long time because my mother had a small apartment and I had 3 small children. That was a lot of people for such a small apartment. When I was looking for a new apartment, I got dizzy because everywhere wanted a deposit + commission for the real estate agent. What am I gonna do? So I started looking for help, when I typed help on the internet, I found the Christian Aid Society website, which listed a contact for Matěj Nový. I called him and told him my whole situation. He invited me to a church service and said, "come and we'll see." It was Sunday, and I was going to Mr. Matěj's church for the third hour. I came, sat down, and listened to the interpretation of God's word. It touched me a lot, plus I could see how the complete strangers in the church were happy to see me and welcomed me warmly.

After the service, I talked to Mr. Matěj and he announced a collection in the church. People from the church collected clothes for my children and money. I thanked them from the bottom of my heart. But I asked them if they could think about my housing because I was staying with my mother, where I could no longer stay with my three children. So the church prayed. Mr. Matěj approached the head of social services in Brno to see if he knew of any housing for a mom with three small children. The head of social

services promised him that he would see how they could help. After a week, he contacted Mr. Matěj and told him that they had a place in the building for abused mothers where I could come and stay almost immediately.

Mr. Matěj immediately called me with this news and I jumped up and thanked God that He had heard my prayers. A week later I moved into this facility, into a clean environment. They helped me sort out all the paperwork, and the children were finally at peace and happy.

I thank God for this opportunity and for this new chance. All I can say is that God is good!

© 2023 The House of Help, Věstonická 3, Brno Czech Republic
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started